HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
Browse Our Narrators

 

Personal Memoirs



Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
The Year of Magical Thinking

Joan Didion; read by Barbara Caruso

This powerful and moving work is Didion's “attempt to make sense of the weeks and then months that cut loose any fixed idea I ever had about death about illness . . . about marriage and children and memory . . . about the shallowness of sanity about life itself.” With vulnerability and passion, Joan Didion explores an intensely personal yet universal experience of love and loss. Learn More
The Year My Mother Came Back

Alice Eve Cohen; read by Alice Eve Cohen (the author)

Thirty years after her death, Alice?s mother appears to her, seemingly in the flesh, and continues to do so during the hardest year Alice has had to face: the year her youngest daughter needs surgery, her eldest daughter decides to track down her birth mother, and the year Alice gets a daunting diagnosis. Learn More
Work Hard. Be Nice.

Jay Mathews; read by J. Paul Boehmer

Upton Sinclair Award Winner for Outstanding Book in Education

When teachers Mike Feinberg and Dave Levin first created KIPP (the Knowledge Is Power Program) in Houston, little did they know it would grow to sixty-six schools in nineteen states and the District of Columbia, and that it would change thousands of kids’ lives—and possibly the U.S. approach to education. Award-winning education reporter Jay Mathews tells their story. Learn More
Windswept

by Annabel Abbs; read by Fenella Fudge

NEW! Now Available

Annabel Abbs's Windswept: Walking the Paths of Trailblazing Women is a beautifully written meditation on connecting with the outdoors through the simple act of walking. In captivating and elegant prose, Abbs follows in the footsteps of women who boldly reclaimed wild landscapes for themselves, including Georgia O'Keeffe, Nan Shepherd, Gwen John, Daphne du Maurier, and Simone de Beauvoir. Learn More
White Magic

by Elissa Washuta; read by Kyla Garcia

NEW! Now Available

In this collection of intertwined essays, Elissa Washuta writes about land, heartbreak, and colonization, about life without the escape hatch of intoxication, and about how she became a powerful witch. Learn More
When Blood Breaks Down

by Mikkael A. Sekeres; read by Mike Lenz

A leading cancer specialist tells the compelling stories of three adult leukemia patients and their treatments, the disease itself, and the drugs developed to treat it. Learn More
What Is the Grass

by Mark Doty; read by Jonathan Yen

Effortlessly blending biography, criticism, and memoir, National Book Award–winning poet and bestselling memoirist Mark Doty explores his personal quest for Walt Whitman. Learn More
What A Body Remembers

by Karen Stefano; read by Nicole Poole

What a Body Remembers is the intimate memoir of a woman's traumatic past catching up with her, an honest, from-the-gut account of one woman's journey to regain her power and confidence—a journey that continues to this day. Learn More
We Came, We Saw, We Left

by Charles Wheelan; read by P.J. Ochlan

We Came, We Saw, We Left is the insightful and often hilarious account of one family's gap-year experiment. Learn More
Vanishing Twins

by Leah Dieterich; read by Leah Dieterich

"It's like we're the same person. We finish each other's sentences. This is what we've been taught to desire and expect of love. But there's a question underneath that's never addressed: Once you find someone to finish your sentences, do you stop finishing them for yourself?" Learn More
The Unexpected Guest

by Michael Konik; read by George W. Sarris

An inspirational memoir about a Los Angeles couple that takes in a homeless man, and the transformational effect the experience has on all three of their lives. Learn More
Two Trees Make a Forest

by Jessica J. Lee; read by Nancy Wu


One of The Guardian's Best Books of the Year

An exhilarating, anti-colonial reclamation of nature writing and memoir, rooted in the forests and flatlands of Taiwan, perfect for fans of Margaret Renkl's Late Migrations and William Finnegan's Barbarian Days. Learn More
The Twice-Born

by Aatish Taseer; read by Neil Shah

In The Twice-Born, Aatish Taseer embarks on a journey of self-discovery in an intoxicating, unsettling personal reckoning with modern India, where ancient customs collide with the contemporary politics of revivalism and revenge. Learn More
Trumbo

Bruce Cook; read by Luke Daniels

An intimate, essential biography of the man who broke the Hollywood blacklist. Learn More
To the Lake

by Kapka Kassabova

Kapka Kassabova, the award-winning author of Border: A Journey to the Edge of Europe, presents her latest book. Learn More
Through the Children's Gate

Adam Gopnik; read by Adam Gopnik

By turns elegant and exultant, jubilant and poignant, Through the Children's Gate is a loving portrait of a family and their city. Learn More
This Road I Ride

Juliana Buhring; read by Henrietta Meire

This Road I Ride is the remarkable story of one woman's solo journey around the world by bicycle. Learn More
This River

by James Brown; read by Charles Constant

Award-winning author James Brown gained a cult following after chronicling his turbulent childhood and spiraling drug addiction in The Los Angeles Diaries. This River picks up where Brown left off in his first memoir, describing his tenuous relationship with sobriety, telling of agonizing relapses, and tracking his attempts to become a better father. Learn More
This Narrow Space

by Elisha Waldman; read by Barry Abrams

This Narrow Space is Elisha Waldman's deeply affecting and poignant memoir of the seven years he spent taking care of children—Israeli Jews, Muslims, and Christians; Palestinian Arabs from the West Bank and Gaza—with one devastating thing in common: they had all been diagnosed with some form of pediatric cancer. Learn More
This Is the Night Our House Will Catch Fire

by Nick Flynn; read by Charles Constant

A searing memoir from critically acclaimed author Nick Flynn, on how childhood spills into parenthood.
Learn More
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Back to top