HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
Browse Our Narrators

 

Women & Persons of Color



Page:
  1. Previous
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Ordinary Girls

by Jaquira Diaz; read by Almarie Guerra


Indie Next List
Oprah Magazine's 33 Must-Read Books of Fall 2019

A fierce, beautiful, and unflinching memoir from a wildly talented debut author. Learn More
On Our Way Home from the Revolution

by Sonya Bilocerkowycz; read by Sonya Bilocerkowycz

NEW! Now Available

In these linked essays, Sonya Bilocerkowycz invites listeners to meet a swirling cast of post-Soviet characters, including a Russian intelligence officer who finds Osama bin Laden a few weeks after 9/11; a Ukrainian poet whose nose gets broken by Russian separatists; and a long-lost relative who drives a bus into the heart of Chernobyl. On Our Way Home from the Revolution muddles our easy distinctions between innocence and culpability, agency and fate. Learn More
Of Bears and Ballots

by Heather Lende; read by Karen White

The writer whom the Los Angeles Times calls “part Annie Dillard, part Anne Lamott,” now brings her quirky and compassionate take on holding local office. Learn More
Notes on a Foreign Country

by Suzy Hansen; read by Kirsten Potter

Pulitzer Prize Finalist
New York Times Notable Book
Book Page Best of 2017

Blending memoir, journalism, and history, Notes on a Foreign Country is a moving reflection on America's place in the world. It is a powerful journey of self-discovery and revelation―a profound reckoning with what it means to be American in a moment of grave national and global turmoil. Learn More
Northern Light

by Kazim Ali; read by Kazim Ali


Lambda Literary Award Finalist

Kazim Ali presents his latest book, Northern Light. Learn More
Nobody's Girl Friday

by J. E. Smyth; read by Karen White

Looking back on her career in 1977, Bette Davis remembered with pride, "Women owned Hollywood for twenty years." She had a point. Between 1930 and 1950, over forty percent of film industry employees were women, twenty five percent of all screenwriters were female, one woman ran MGM behind the scenes, over a dozen women worked as producers, a woman headed the Screen Writers Guild three times, and press claimed Hollywood was a generation or two ahead of the rest of the country in terms of gender equality and employment. Learn More
Nine Continents

by Xiaolu Guo; read by Emily Woo Zeller

2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards Winner

Xiaolu Guo is one of the most acclaimed Chinese-born writers of her generation, an iconoclastic and completely contemporary voice. Her vivid, poignant memoir, Nine Continents is the story of a curious mind coming of age in an inhospitable country, and her determination to seek a life beyond the limits of its borders. Learn More
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

by Barbara K. Lipska; read by Emma Powell

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind. Learn More
My Quest for Health Equity

by David Satcher, MD, PhD; read by David Satcher, MD, PhD

NEW! Now Available

In My Quest for Health Equity, Dr. Satcher takes an inspiring and instructive look inside his fifty-year career to shed light on the challenge and burden of leadership. Explaining that he has thought of each leadership role—whether in academia, community, or government—as an opportunity to move the needle toward health equity, he shares the hard-won lessons he has learned over a lifetime in the medical field. Learn More
My Experiments with Truth

Mohandas Gandhi; read by Frederick Davidson

This work is Gandhi’s autobiography, documenting his spiritual journey amidst the political strife of his times. Learn More
My Brothers' Keeper

by Gloria Reuben; read by Gloria Reuben

My Brothers' Keeper carries the listener through a deeply personal and intimate journey, as Gloria Reuben explores her love of the life she shared with her brothers, as well as the myriad of emotions and experiences after their sudden deaths. Learn More
My Baby First Birthday

by Jenny Zhang; read by Jenny Zhang


A New York Public Library Best Book of 2020
A Best Read of 2020 at Ms. Magazine

Radiant and tender, My Baby First Birthday is a collection that examines innocence, asking us who gets to be loved and who has to deplete themselves just to survive. Learn More
My Accidental Jihad

Krista Bremer; read by Xe Sands

Indie Next List

Profoundly moving and often funny, this meditation on tolerance explores what it means to open our hearts to another culture and to embrace our own. Learn More
Mukiwa

by Peter Godwin; read by Peter Godwin

The author shares his experiences as a white child growing up in an African colony rapidly collapsing into chaos, in a memoir of Africa seen through the eyes of a child as a magical, frightening place and then through the haunted eyes of an adolescent soldier. Learn More
Motherhood So White

by Nefertiti Austin; read by Allyson Johnson

In this unflinching account of her parenting journey, Nefertiti Austin examines the history of adoption in the African American community, faces off against stereotypes of single, black motherhood, and confronts the reality of raising children of color in racially charged, modern-day America. Learn More
Mothercare

by Lynne Tillman; read by Kim Niemi

NEW! Now Available

For readers of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, and Simone de Beauvior's A Very Easy Death, Mothercare is an honest and beautifully written account of a sudden and drastically changed relationship with one's mother, and of the time and labor spent navigating the American healthcare system. Learn More
Mother of the Unseen World

by Mark Matousek; read by Sean Runnette

Mother of the Unseen World is a revealing exploration of Mother Meera, the Indian enlightener and mystic who embodies the Divine Feminine. Writing with her approval and cooperation, Mark Matousek, a longtime follower, has crafted a deeply moving and insightful book that takes us as close as possible to this remarkable woman, and to the experience of enlightenment. Learn More
Morningstar

by Ann Hood; read by Donna Postel

Morningstar is a memoir about the magic and inspiration of books from a beloved and bestselling author. Learn More
Miracle Country

by Kendra Atleework; read by Cassandra Campbell

Like Wild, Miracle Country is a story of flight and return, bounty and emptiness, and the true meaning of home. But it also speaks to the ravages of climate change and its permanent destruction of the way of life in one particular town. Learn More
Mennonite in a Little Black Dress

Rhoda Janzen; read by Hillary Huber

Written with wry humor and huge personality—and tackling faith, love, family, and aging—Mennonite in a Little Black Dress is an immensely moving memoir of healing, certain to touch anyone who has ever had to look homeward in order to move ahead. Learn More
Page:
  1. Previous
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Back to top