HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
Browse Our Narrators

 

Women & Persons of Color



Page:
  1. Previous
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Northern Light

by Kazim Ali; read by Kazim Ali

NEW! Now Available

Kazim Ali presents his latest book, Northern Light. Learn More
Nobody's Girl Friday

by J. E. Smyth; read by Karen White

Looking back on her career in 1977, Bette Davis remembered with pride, "Women owned Hollywood for twenty years." She had a point. Between 1930 and 1950, over forty percent of film industry employees were women, twenty five percent of all screenwriters were female, one woman ran MGM behind the scenes, over a dozen women worked as producers, a woman headed the Screen Writers Guild three times, and press claimed Hollywood was a generation or two ahead of the rest of the country in terms of gender equality and employment. Learn More
Nine Continents

by Xiaolu Guo; read by Emily Woo Zeller

2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards Winner

Xiaolu Guo is one of the most acclaimed Chinese-born writers of her generation, an iconoclastic and completely contemporary voice. Her vivid, poignant memoir, Nine Continents is the story of a curious mind coming of age in an inhospitable country, and her determination to seek a life beyond the limits of its borders. Learn More
The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

by Barbara K. Lipska; read by Emma Powell

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind. Learn More
My Experiments with Truth

Mohandas Gandhi; read by Frederick Davidson

This work is Gandhi’s autobiography, documenting his spiritual journey amidst the political strife of his times. Learn More
My Brothers' Keeper

by Gloria Reuben; read by Gloria Reuben

My Brothers' Keeper carries the listener through a deeply personal and intimate journey, as Gloria Reuben explores her love of the life she shared with her brothers, as well as the myriad of emotions and experiences after their sudden deaths. Learn More
My Accidental Jihad

Krista Bremer; read by Xe Sands

Indie Next List

Profoundly moving and often funny, this meditation on tolerance explores what it means to open our hearts to another culture and to embrace our own. Learn More
Mukiwa

by Peter Godwin; read by Peter Godwin

The author shares his experiences as a white child growing up in an African colony rapidly collapsing into chaos, in a memoir of Africa seen through the eyes of a child as a magical, frightening place and then through the haunted eyes of an adolescent soldier. Learn More
Motherhood So White

by Nefertiti Austin; read by Allyson Johnson

In this unflinching account of her parenting journey, Nefertiti Austin examines the history of adoption in the African American community, faces off against stereotypes of single, black motherhood, and confronts the reality of raising children of color in racially charged, modern-day America. Learn More
Mother of the Unseen World

by Mark Matousek; read by Sean Runnette

Mother of the Unseen World is a revealing exploration of Mother Meera, the Indian enlightener and mystic who embodies the Divine Feminine. Writing with her approval and cooperation, Mark Matousek, a longtime follower, has crafted a deeply moving and insightful book that takes us as close as possible to this remarkable woman, and to the experience of enlightenment. Learn More
Morningstar

by Ann Hood; read by Donna Postel

Morningstar is a memoir about the magic and inspiration of books from a beloved and bestselling author. Learn More
Miracle Country

by Kendra Atleework; read by Cassandra Campbell

Like Wild, Miracle Country is a story of flight and return, bounty and emptiness, and the true meaning of home. But it also speaks to the ravages of climate change and its permanent destruction of the way of life in one particular town. Learn More
Mennonite in a Little Black Dress

Rhoda Janzen; read by Hillary Huber

Written with wry humor and huge personality—and tackling faith, love, family, and aging—Mennonite in a Little Black Dress is an immensely moving memoir of healing, certain to touch anyone who has ever had to look homeward in order to move ahead. Learn More
Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy

by Anne Boyd Rioux; read by Kimberly Farr


Library Journal Best Books 2018

As the beloved classic celebrates its 150th anniversary, discover the story of the novel that captured the imaginations of generations of girls. Learn More
Martin & Malcolm & America

by James H. Cone; read by Sean Crisden

F O R T H C O M I N G ! Available February

This groundbreaking and highly acclaimed work examines the two most influential African American leaders of the twentieth century. Learn More
Mandela: An Audio History

Radio Diaries; hosted by Desmond Tutu; commentary by Nelson Mandela; foreword by Joe Richman

Audie® Award Winner: Audiobook of the Year!

The award-winning radio series documenting the struggle against apartheid through intimate first-person accounts of Nelson Mandela himself as well as those who fought alongside him and against him. Learn More
Man They Wanted Me to Be

by Jared Yates Sexton; read by Jared Yates Sexton


A Big Other Most Anticipated Small Press Book of the Year

The author of The People Are Going to Rise Like the Waters Upon Your Shore turns his keen eye to our current crisis of masculinity, using his upbringing in rural Indiana to examine the personal and societal dangers of the patriarchy. Learn More
Making Motherhood Work

by Caitlyn Collins; read by Xe Sands

A moving, cross-national account of working mothers' daily lives—and the revolution in public policy and culture needed to improve them. Learn More
The Madwoman and the Roomba

by Sandra Tsing Loh; read by Sandra Tsing Loh

Sandra Tsing Loh, author of The Madwoman and the Volvo, presents her latest book. Learn More
Mademoiselle

Rhonda Garelick; read by Tavia Gilbert

A stunning new biography of Coco Chanel—the high priestess of twentieth-century fashion—that examines her critical place in history and the ingenious powers by which she internalized and transmitted the cultural trends of her time. Learn More
Page:
  1. Previous
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. Next
Show per page
View as: Grid  List  Sort by Set Ascending Direction
Back to top