HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Bloody January

Audiobook
Fiction: Mystery
Unabridged   8.75 hour(s)
Publication date: 04/23/2019

NEW! Now Available

Bloody January

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684573585
Digital Download ISBN:9781684573592

Summary

An exciting, evocative first-in-series noir novel set in 1973 Glasgow, a city on the cusp of a heroin epidemic, featuring detective Harry McCoy.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

An exciting, evocative first-in-series noir novel set in 1973 Glasgow, a city on the cusp of a heroin epidemic, featuring detective Harry McCoy.

When an eighteen-year-old boy shoots a young woman dead in the middle of a busy Glasgow street and then commits suicide, McCoy knows it can't be a random act of violence. With a newbie partner in tow, McCoy uses his underworld network to build a picture of a secret society run by Glasgow's wealthiest family, the Dunlops. Drugs, sex, incest; every nefarious predilection is catered to, at the expense of the lower echelon of society, an underclass that includes McCoy's best friend from reformatory school—drug-Tsar Stevie Cooper—and his on-off girlfriend, a prostitute, Janey. But with McCoy's boss calling off the hounds, and his boss's boss unleashing their own, the Dunlops are apparently untouchable. McCoy has other ideas.

Fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw books and Oliver Harris's The Hollow Man, Ian Rankin's and Dennis Lehane's fiction, and TV shows like Luther will find themselves thoroughly satisfied here.

Reviews/Praise

“Parks’ debut novel has an in-your-face immediacy that matches its protagonist. Compelling portraits of minor characters tucked into several scenes add texture and interest.” ―Kirkus Reviews

“[A] suitably dark and violent debut novel that resurrects the tartan noir phenomenon.”―Library Journal

“Tautly woven...A worthy addition to the tartan noir canon, McCoy is a flawed hero to watch, as is his creator.”―Publishers Weekly

Author Bio

Alan Parks was born in Scotland and attended the University of Glasgow, where he was awarded an MA in Moral Philosophy. He is the author of Bloody January and February's Son.