HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 
Bloomland

Audiobook
Fiction: Drama
Unabridged   6.5 hour(s)
Publication date: 09/10/2019

F O R T H C O M I N G ! Available September

Bloomland

Available from major retailers
Audio CD ISBN:9781684576692
Digital Download ISBN:9781684576685

Summary

Profound and deeply nuanced, Bloomland is a dazzling debut for fans of Denis Johnson and We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

Winner of the Dzanc Books Prize for Fiction

Bloomland opens during finals week at a fictional southern university, when a student walks into the library with his roommate's semi-automatic rifle and opens fire. When he stops shooting, twelve people are dead.

In this richly textured debut, John Englehardt explores how the origin and aftermath of the shooting impacts the lives of three characters: a disillusioned student, a grieving professor, and a young man whose valuation of fear and disconnection funnels him into the role of the aggressor. As the community wrestles with the fallout, Bloomland interrogates social and cultural dysfunction in a nation where mass violence has become all too familiar.

Profound and deeply nuanced, Bloomland is a dazzling debut for fans of Denis Johnson and We Need to Talk About Kevin.

Author Bio

John Englehardt won the Dzanc Books Prize in Fiction. His work has appeared in Vol.1 Brooklyn, Sycamore Review, the Stranger, Seattle Review of Books, Conium Review, Monkeybicycle, and elsewhere. He holds an MFA from the University of Arkansas, and currently teaches writing classes at Hugo House in Seattle.