HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

Audiobook
Fiction: Literary
Unabridged   7.5 hour(s)
Publication date: 06/01/2021

NEW! Now Available
A Good Morning America Must-Read Book of the Month
A Bustle Most Anticipated Debut of the Year
An Electric Literature Most Anticipated Debut of the Year
Indie Next List Pick

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781696605069
Digital Download ISBN:9781696605052

Summary

A fableistic, "curious and dazzling" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for fans of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (Booklist, starred review).

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

A fableistic, "curious and dazzling" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for fans of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (Booklist, starred review).

In the tourist town of Ciudad de Tres Hermanas, in the aftermath of their mother's passing, two siblings spend a final weekend together in their childhood home. Seeing her brother, Rafa, careening toward a place of no return, Rufina devises a bet: if they can make enough money performing for privileged tourists in the plaza over the course of the weekend to afford a plane ticket out, Rafa must commit to living. If not, Rufina will make her peace with Rafa's own plan for the future, however terrifying it may be.

As the siblings reckon with generational and ancestral trauma, set against the indignities of present-day prejudice, other strange hauntings begin to take place: their mother's ghost kicks her heels against the walls; Rufina's vanished child creeps into her arms at night; and above all this, watching over the siblings, a genderless, flea-bitten angel remains hell-bent on saving what can be saved.

Reviews/Praise

"Curious and dazzling . . . Figueroa's omniscient, second person narration creates an intimacy while the hypnotic rhythm of her prose and evocative mystical elements invoke an archetypal sense that is at once out-of-time and thoroughly contemporary as we grudgingly recognize our own precarious epoch." —Booklist Starred Review

"Gorgeously rendered, with familial and ancestral history braided into contemporary events, this study of memory and grief features a young woman trying to pull her brother back from the edge after their mother’s death." —Library Journal

"Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer is so full of voice. It is utterly bright and original." —Tommy Orange, author of There There

Author Bio

Jamie Figueroa received her MFA in creative writing from the Institute of American Indian Arts. Her writing has appeared in Epoch, McSweeney's, and American Short Fiction. She is the recipient of the Truman Capote Scholarship and is a Bread Loaf scholar. Boricua by way of Ohio, Figueroa lives in northern New Mexico.