HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site

He Done Her Wrong

Fiction: Mystery & Detective
Unabridged   7 hour(s)
Publication date: 07/30/2013

He Done Her Wrong

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Digital Download ISBN:9781622310647


Following the trail of Mae West’s scandalous—and missing—memoirs soon leads P.I. Peters into the midst of murder and mayhem.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend

Product Description

You can’t trust a man who’s dressed as Mae West, especially not in Mae West’s house. One of Hollywood’s earliest sex symbols, the whip-smart blonde’s star has fallen since the Hays Code cracked down on the racy repartee that made her famous. Her latest project is a thinly veiled autobiographical novel, whose only copy is stolen just after she finishes her first draft.

Tonight she’s having a Mae West party, with every guest a man dressed as her. The thief is among those in drag, and P.I. Toby Peters has come to tear off his wig. He’s there as a favor to his brother, a brutal cop who had a fling with West when she first moved to Hollywood. But this is more than a theft. The crook wants to destroy Mae West, and he has murder on his mind.


“Shades of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett. If you think Stuart Kaminsky doesn’t have a feeling for the best of both authors, you are in for a surprise.”
      —San Diego Union-Tribune

Author Bio

STUART M. KAMINSKY (1934-2009), a Mystery Writers of America Master as well as an Edgar Award-winning author, was one of the most prolific crime fiction writers of the last four decades. Born in Chicago, he spent his youth immersed in pulp fiction and classic cinema—two forms of popular entertainment which he would make his life’s work. After college and a stint in the army, Kaminsky wrote film criticism and biographies of the great actors and directors of Hollywood’s golden age.

In 1977, when a planned biography of Charlton Heston fell through, Kaminsky wrote Bullet for a Star, his first Toby Peters novel, beginning a fiction career that would last the rest of his life. Kaminsky penned twenty-four novels starring the detective, whom he described as “the anti-Philip Marlowe.” In 1981’s Death of a Dissident, Kaminsky debuted Moscow police detective Porfiry Rostnikov, whose stories were praised for their accurate depiction of Soviet life. His other two series starred Abe Lieberman, a hardened Chicago Cop, and Lew Fonseca, a process server. In all, Kaminsky wrote more than sixty novels.

You Might Also Enjoy

The Man Who Shot Lewis Vance

The Man Who Shot Lewis Vance

Never Cross a Vampire

Never Cross a Vampire