HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Laurentian Divide

Audiobook
Fiction: Women's Fiction
Unabridged   9.25 hour(s)
Publication date: 10/23/2018

NEW! Now Available

Laurentian Divide

A Novel

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684416745
Digital Download ISBN:9781684416752

Summary

Poignant portrayals of life on the edge in northern Minnesota border country, from the bestselling author of These Granite Islands and Vacationland.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

Bitter winters are nothing new in Hatchet Inlet, hard up against the ridge of the Laurentian Divide, but the advent of spring can't thaw the community's collective grief, lingering since a senseless tragedy the previous fall. What is different this year is what's missing: Rauri Paar, the last private landowner in the Reserve, whose annual emergence from his remote iced-in islands marks the beginning of spring and the promise of a kinder season.

In the second volume of her Northern Trilogy, Sarah Stonich reassembles characters that endeared Vacationland to so many readers: retired union miner and widower Alpo Lahti is about to wed his charming and lively bride, Sissy Pavola, but, with Rauri unaccounted for, celebration seems premature. Alpo's son Pete struggles to find his straight and narrow, then struggles to stay on it, and even Sissy might be having second thoughts.

Weaving in and out of each other's reach, trying hard to do their best (all the while wondering what that might be), Stonich's characters in all their sweetness and sorrow remind us once more of the inescapable lurches of the heart and unexpected turns of our human comedy.

Reviews/Praise

"Thanks to Stonich’s keen depictions, this is a small town peopled with actual people: diverse individuals united by a common experience of place. Laurentian Divide transports attention to a ‘scrap of near-nowhere’ because ‘life isn’t something that happens to you—how you choose to react to what happens is life.’"—Foreword Review

"Stonich weaves past and present into a lyrical, immersive novel. Fans of Kent Haruf and Paulette Jiles will fall in love with Stonich’s depiction of Minnesota: harsh and welcoming, friendly and unforgiving, all at once. Exploring the consequences of actions set in motion months, years, or even decades ago, Stonich’s slow burn of a novel questions what—and who—can belong to us."—Booklist

"Hilarious, smart, moving, and kind, Laurentian Divide is good for the soul, or anyway, it was good for mine."—Richard Russo

Author Bio

Sarah Stonich is the author of the critically acclaimed novels Vacationland, The Ice Chorus, and These Granite Islands, as well as Fishing with RayAnne (writing as Ava Finch) and her memoir, Shelter. She lives in Minneapolis.