HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
Life After Kafka

Unabridged   9 hour(s)
Publication date: 08/06/2024

F O R T H C O M I N G ! Available August

Life After Kafka

Available from major retailers
Digital Download ISBN:9781696616317


A novel of Felice Bauer, Franz Kafka's first fiancée, and the story behind Letters to Felice.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend

Product Description

A novel of Felice Bauer, Franz Kafka's first fiancée, and the story behind Letters to Felice

Franz Kafka scholars know Felice Bauer, his onetime fiancée, through his Letters to Felice, as little more than a woman with a raucous laugh and a taste for bourgeois comforts. Life After Kafka is her story. The novel begins in 1935 as Felice flees with her children from Hitler's Berlin, following her family and members of Kafka's entourage—including Grete Bloch, Max Brod, and Salman Schocken—as they try to escape the horrors of the Holocaust. Years later, a man claiming to be Kafka's son approaches Felice's son in Manhattan and the drama surrounding Kafka's letters to Felice begins.

While taking the measure of literary fame's long shadow, Life After Kafka depicts the magic and poison of memories, and what we cling to when all else is lost. Most of all, it illuminates the bravery required to move forward through the shattered remains of one world to rebuild life in a new one.

Author Bio

Magdaléna Platzová is the author of several books, including three novels published in English: Aaron's Leap, a Lidové Noviny Book of the Year Award finalist, The Attempt, longlisted for the Dublin Literary Award and a Czech Book Award finalist, and Life After Kafka, a Magnesia Litera Award finalist.