HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Lifelines

Audiobook
Fiction: Literary
Unabridged   11 hour(s)
Publication date: 06/18/2019

NEW! Now Available
O Magazine's Best Books by Women of Summer 2019
A Cosmopolitan Best Book of the Summer

Lifelines

A Novel

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684419838
Digital Download ISBN:9781684419845

Summary

For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Maggie Shipstead: a sweeping debut novel following an American artist who returns to Germany—where she fell in love and had a child decades earlier—to confront her past at her former mother-in-law's funeral.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

It's 1971 when Louise leaves Oregon for Düsseldorf, a city grappling with its nation's horrific recent history, to study art. Soon she's embroiled in a scene dramatically different from the one at home, thanks in large part to Dieter, a mercurial musician. Their romance ignites quickly, but life gets in the way: an unplanned pregnancy, hasty marriage, the tense balance of their creative ambitions, and—finally, fatally—a family secret that shatters Dieter, and drives Louise home.

But in 2008 she's headed to Dieter's mother's funeral. She never returned to Germany, and has since remarried, had another daughter, and built a life in Oregon. As she flies into the heart of her past, she reckons with the choices she made, and the ones she didn't, just as her family—current and former—must consider how Louise's life has shaped their own, for better and for worse.

Exquisitely balanced, expansive yet wonderfully intimate, Lifelines explores the indelible ties of family; the shape art, history, and nationality give to our lives; and the ways in which we are forever evolving, with each step we take, with each turn of the Earth.

Reviews/Praise

“Lewis is an excellent narrator who provides a confident pace and impressive skill with enunciation and accents.” —AudioFile

"Diehl's debut confidently handles these cultural and historical complexities and is equally fluent in depicting the concerns and processes of visual artists and musicians. A serious, nuanced portrait of a family of creative people as their decisions, large and small, play out in their lives." —Kirkus Reviews

"Diehl finds the bittersweet heartache of retrospection, and compassionately explores how art helps heal. This complex, intimate story memorably portrays what it looks like to reckon with one’s choices and to feel both uncertainty and peace."—Publishers Weekly

"A strong debut novel from a writer with a talent for character building."—Booklist

Author Bio

Heidi Diehl's writing has appeared in Colorado Review, Crazyhorse, Indiana Review, Mississippi Review, Witness, and elsewhere. She received her MFA from Brooklyn College and has won fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Saltonstall Foundation, and the Vermont Studio Center. She lives in Brooklyn.