HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Mothercare

Audiobook
Nonfiction: Memoir
Unabridged   7.5 hour(s)
Publication date: 08/02/2022

NEW! Now Available

Mothercare

On Obligation, Love, Death, and Ambivalence

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Digital Download ISBN:9781696609098

Summary

For readers of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, and Simone de Beauvior's A Very Easy Death, Mothercare is an honest and beautifully written account of a sudden and drastically changed relationship with one's mother, and of the time and labor spent navigating the American healthcare system.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

Brilliantly original novelist and cultural critic Lynne Tillman became one of nearly 53 million Americans who care for a sick family member when her mother developed an unusual and little understood condition called Normal Pressure Hydrocephalus.

Instantly, Tillman's independent and spirited mother went from someone she knew to someone else, a woman entirely dependent on her children--an eleven-year process through which her mother underwent many surgeries and some misdiagnoses, while the family navigated consultations and confrontations with doctors, adjusting to the complexity of her cognitive issues, including memory loss.

With her notoriously exquisite writing style and reputation as a "rich noticer of strange things" (Colm Toíbín), Tillman describes, without flinching, the unexpected, heartbreaking, and frustrating years of caring for a sick parent.

Mothercare is both a cautionary tale and sympathetic guidance for anyone who suddenly becomes a caregiver, responsible for the life of another--a parent, loved or not, or a friend. This story may be helpful, informative, consoling, or upsetting, but it never fails to underscore how impossible it is to get the job done completely right.

Reviews/Praise

"Both a treatise on the “grueling obligation” of caregiving and an ineffectual American healthcare system, as well as the frank recounting of loving and living with a difficult parent, Mothercare feels particularly apt for an era in which caregivers are more burnt than out than ever (or, perhaps more accurately, an era in which we’re finally paying attention)." —Eliza Smith, Literary Hub

Author Bio

Lynne Tillman is a novelist, short story writer, and cultural critic. She is the author of numerous books, including No Lease on Life, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction, and What Would Lynne Tillman Do?, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism.