HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

Prairie Fever

Audiobook
Fiction: Literary, Historical
Unabridged   9 hour(s)
Publication date: 05/21/2019

NEW! Now Available

Prairie Fever

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684570188
Digital Download ISBN:9781684570195

Summary

Set in the hardscrabble landscape of early 1900s Oklahoma, but timeless in its sensibility, Prairie Fever traces the dynamic between two sisters: the pragmatic Lorena and the chimerical Elise. Their connection to each other supersedes all else, until the arrival of a schoolteacher sunders the sisters' relationship as they both begin to fall for him.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

"The most beautiful novel I have read in quite some time. The language is that graceful and original, the events and characters that spellbinding and funny and moving; and always the melancholy beauty and mysterious power of the open prairie shine through." —TOM DRURY, author of Pacific

Set in the hardscrabble landscape of early 1900s Oklahoma, but timeless in its sensibility, Prairie Fever traces the dynamic between two sisters: the pragmatic Lorena and the chimerical Elise. Their connection to each other supersedes all else, until the arrival of a schoolteacher sunders the sisters' relationship as they both begin to fall for him. With poetic intensity and the deadpan humor of Paulette Jiles and Charles Portis, Parker reminds us of how our choices are often driven by our passions. Expansive and intimate, Prairie Fever tells the story of characters tested as much by life on the prairie as they are by their own churning hearts.

"That a love story of this strangeness and rightness can come out of the event of a girl nearly dead in a storm is a testament to the wonder that is Michael Parker's talent." —JANE HAMILTON, author of The Excellent Lombards

Reviews/Praise

“In the tradition of Katherine Anne Porter, Parker’s exceptional tale explores the power and strength of kinship on the harsh American frontier.” —Publishers Weekly

“The narrative switches between points of view, and reader Zackman’s vocal interpretations allow the sisters’ contrasting personalities to come to life.” —Booklist

“Parker’s chimerical slipstream of a novel asks, Is it better to hew to that which is, or to see the world as you wish? Readers will surely be pulled deep into the strange and wild river of Elise’s fanciful peregrinations.” —Booklist Starred Review

“A frontier tale of sibling rivalry. . . Parker's novel isn't as much about sisterhood as love, as the two struggle to reckon with their estrangement head-on; some of the novel's most powerful sections are Elise's letters to Lorena, addressed not directly to sis but to the horse she rode during the blizzard . . . the easygoing, sometimes-smirking nature of the prose (True Grit comes to mind) makes the novel a pleasant ride.” —Kirkus Reviews

Author Bio

Michael Parker is the author of six novels and three collections of stories. His short fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the Washington Post, the New York Times Magazine, the Oxford American, Runner's World, Men's Journal, and elsewhere.