HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site


Unabridged   10.5 hour(s)
Publication date: 09/03/2013


Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Digital Download ISBN:9781622310821


Years after testifying against a crime boss and going into hiding, an honest man who was only following his conscience finds his cover blown and the mob out to exact its revenge.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend

Product Description

Fred Mathieson was not an ordinary witness against the mob. He was never in the organization, and didn’t testify against gangster Frank Pastor to save his own skin. Mathieson is a lawyer, and took the stand simply from a desire to do the right thing. His conscience destroyed his life, but he built a new one. Now his long-ago testimony is about to put him and his family in mortal danger.

For nearly nine years, Mathieson has been safe in the Witness Security Program, working as an entertainment attorney in California. But Frank Pastor is a few days away from parole, and he has decided to take revenge. By blackmailing a clerk in witness protection, the mobster finds Mathieson’s new name—and the chase is on.


“Anybody settling down with a Garfield book is in for a good time.”
      —New York Times

“A scintillating, talented writer.”

“Garfield builds diverse, rough, full-blooded people and sets them on a collision course.”
      —Robert Ludlum, author of The Bourne Identity

Author Bio

BRIAN GARFIELD, the author of more than seventy books, is one of the country’s most prolific writes of thrillers, westerns and other genre fiction. Garfield is a past president of the Mystery Writers of America and the Western Writers of America, and the only author to have held both offices. Several of his novels have been made into films, including Death Wish (1972), The Last Hard Men (1976) and Hopscotch (1975), for which he wrote the screenplay.

You Might Also Enjoy

Death Sentence

Death Sentence