HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 
Stubborn Archivist

Audiobook
Fiction: Youth
Unabridged   5 hour(s)
Publication date: 07/16/2019

F O R T H C O M I N G ! Available July

Stubborn Archivist

Available from major retailers
Audio CD ISBN:9781684573004
Digital Download ISBN:9781684573011

Summary

For fans of Chemistry and Conversations with Friends: A mesmerizing and witty debut novel about a young woman growing up between two disparate cultures, and the singular identity she finds along the way.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

But where are you really from?

When your mother considers another country home, it's hard to know where you belong. When the people you live among can't pronounce your name, it's hard to know exactly who you are. And when your body no longer feels like your own, it's hard to understand your place in the world.

In Stubborn Archivist, a young British Brazilian woman from South London navigates growing up between two cultures and into a fuller understanding of her body, relying on signposts such as history, family conversation, and the eyes of the women who have shaped her—her mother, grandmother, and aunt. Our stubborn archivist takes us through first love and loss, losing and finding home, trauma and healing, and various awakenings of sexuality and identity. Shot through the novel are the narrator's trips to Brazil, sometimes alone, often with family, where she accesses a different side of herself—one, she begins to realize, that is as much of who she is as anything else.

A hypnotic and bold debut, Stubborn Archivist is as singular as its narrator; a novel you won't soon forget.

Author Bio

Yara Rodrigues Fowler was born in 1992. She grew up in a British Brazilian household in Balham, South London, where she is still based. She has a BA from Oxford University and an MA from UCL, and is a trustee of Latin American Women's Aid. Stubborn Archivist is her first book.