HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

The House of Erzulie

Audiobook
Fiction: Historical Fiction
Unabridged   12.75 hour(s)
Publication date: 02/26/2019

NEW! Now Available

The House of Erzulie

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684418510
Digital Download ISBN:9781684418527

Summary

The House of Erzulie tells the eerily intertwined stories of an ill-fated young couple in the 1850s and the troubled historian who discovers their writings in the present day.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

The House of Erzulie tells the eerily intertwined stories of an ill-fated young couple in the 1850s and the troubled historian who discovers their writings in the present day.

Emilie St. Ange, daughter of a Creole slaveowning family in Louisiana, rebels against her parents by embracing spiritualism and advocating the abolition of slavery. Isidore, her biracial, French-born husband, is horrified by the brutalities of plantation life and becomes unhinged by an obsessive affair with a notorious New Orleans vodou practitioner.

Emilie's and Isidore's letters and journals are interspersed with sections narrated by Lydia Mueller, an architectural historian whose fragile mental health further deteriorates as she reads.

Imbued with a sense of the uncanny and the surreal, The House of Erzulie also alludes to the very real horrors of slavery as it draws on the long tradition of the African-American Gothic novel.

Reviews/Praise

"Kasai explores the horrors of slavery and its legacy in this gothic tale that tingles on the verge of psychological horror. For readers of African American literary fiction and dark, surreal stories."—Library Journal

Author Bio

Kirsten Imani Kasai, a feminist author with Southern roots, has published in a range of literary styles, including the speculative fiction novels Ice Song and Tattoo. She is the publisher and editor of Body Parts Magazine and has an MFA from Antioch University Los Angeles.