HighBridge Audio

Skip to Main Content »

Category Navigation:

Search Site
 

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

Audiobook
Nonfiction: Autobiography & Entertainment; Literary
Unabridged   7 hour(s)
Publication date: 04/03/2018

NEW! Now Available

The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind

My Tale of Madness and Recovery

Available from major retailers or BUY FROM AMAZON
Audio CD ISBN:9781684412662
Digital Download ISBN:9781684412679

Summary

As a deadly cancer spread inside her brain, leading neuroscientist Barbara Lipska was plunged into madness—only to miraculously survive with her memories intact. In the tradition of My Stroke of Insight and Brain on Fire, this powerful memoir recounts her ordeal and explains its unforgettable lessons about the brain and mind.

Be the first to review this product
Email to a Friend


Product Description

In January 2015, Barbara Lipska—a leading expert on the neuroscience of mental illness—was diagnosed with melanoma that had spread to her brain. Within months, her frontal lobe, the seat of cognition, began shutting down. She descended into madness, exhibiting dementia—and schizophrenia—like symptoms that terrified her family and coworkers. But miraculously, just as her doctors figured out what was happening, the immunotherapy they had prescribed began to work. Just eight weeks after her nightmare began, Lipska returned to normal. With one difference: she remembered her brush with madness with exquisite clarity.

In The Neuroscientist Who Lost Her Mind, Lipska describes her extraordinary ordeal and its lessons about the mind and brain. She explains how mental illness, brain injury, and age can change our behavior, personality, cognition, and memory. She tells what it is like to experience these changes firsthand. And she reveals what parts of us remain, even when so much else is gone.

Reviews/Praise

“A harrowing, intimately candid survivor's journey.” —Kirkus Reviews

"[A] fast-paced memoir...exhilarating." —Publishers Weekly

"As a director of the National Institute of Mental Health who focused on the impact of schizophrenia on the brain, Lipska knew a thing or two about mental illness. But she knew considerably more after she exhibited signs of the disease and came back from the brink with amazing insights...Her story conveys deep understanding about the brain and how disease, injury, and age can change our very selves." —Booklist

“Lipska recounts her ordeal with equal parts raw honesty and clear-eyed conviction. Her brush with death changed her physically, mentally and emotionally, and lead to a realization that the tragedy of an unlived life should be feared more than death itself.” —BookPage

Author Bio

Barbara K. Lipska, Ph.D. is director of the Human Brain Collection Core at the National Institute of Mental Health, where she studies mental illness and human brain development. She is an internationally recognized leader in human postmortem research and animal modeling of schizophrenia.